The Truth of Who I Am

"Only the truth of who you are, if realized, will set you free." -Eckhart Tolle

The Universe is Conspiring in Your Favor

on April 21, 2013

“The whole history of science has been the gradual realization that events do not happen in an arbitrary manner, but that they reflect a certain underlying order, which may or may not be divinely inspired.”

-Stephen Hawking

I remember vividly the wonder I felt when Mrs. Gardner, my 7th grade teacher, explained the universe and solar systems and galaxies to our class in a way that I got. It was the first time I truly got a sense of the incredible and incredibly tiny space I occupy in the world. I understood, for the first time, how much I really didn’t understand. How much there was Out There in the universe. That as bright and busy and amazing as the solar system is, there are, potentially, millions of other galaxies like it out there. I got that there is a very high likelihood that there is life of some sort Out There and that I would be extremely arrogant to believe that only on Earth could there be life. I got that when we look at a star that is light years away, we are actually seeing it the way it was in the past. We are actually looking back in time! I was floored as all these realizations occurred to me. Check this out to get a sense of exactly how tiny our Big, Blue Marble is here. I remained in that state of wonder for days and allowed the tininess of my being and existence and world to sink in. I thought about how, if we looked at all the time that has passed or will come to pass, my life barely makes it as a dot on the Timeline. Barely.

you_are_here_galaxy

And yet, I live my life as if it is the highlight of that timeline. For me it is. For each of us, it is. It has to be. I make decisions and choices and friendships as if my life is of utmost importance in the scheme of things. So it is quite something to think of my union with my partner as something the universe had conspired to create.

There was the particular moment I first began to consider that maybe the universe had conspired to bring us together. We were building a friendship while keeping each other company in graduate school work. We had “gone out to get a bite to eat” which was the beginning of never having to ask each other out on a date. As we were talking with each other and asking questions and learning about each others’ lives and families and dreams and ideas, I remember looking at him and thinking to myself, “He’s such a nice guy. He’s one of the good ones. I hope I meet someone like him someday. Someone who wants the same things I want already, unlike all the other guys who weren’t ready for the simple, uncomplicated desires of my heart. A girl like me would be lucky to find a guy like him.”

And I sat there with this thought in my head as I looked at him and listened to him talk. I felt good in his presence. I felt most like me in his presence. And the thought sat there in my mind for at least a day. And then the universe said to me, “Why not him?” And then began the butterflies and a slightly different kind of joy whenever I saw him. The universe was conspiring to bring us together.

Back during my every-weekend-is-a-party days, prior to graduate school, my dear and nutty friend, Paula, and I would head out to the cool spots in Atlanta open to whatever party happened upon us and every outing was always fun and what we believed would be memorable. We spent most of the night laughing and thoroughly enjoying each other while basing our entertainment on the throngs of women and men who were out to Meet Someone. We were above that, of course. We were just there to aim our spitballs, pretend to card people before they got to the door (and they were always unsuspecting and obliging) and toss ice cubes in the air and be completely surprised that it was hailing indoors when people looked back at us.

We often said at the end of a ‘party’ that we didn’t really need anyone else as the two of us could have had just as good of a time had we been in a padded room by ourselves. We cracked each other up. We also had our stream of jokes to tell that played off each other that we thought were completely hilarious – not so sure about the people around us. There was one particular joke that we had down pat that was always a sure thing as far as cracking us up. It was a two-part joke. Paula told the first part, which happened to have a not-so-funny punchline, at the end of which we always exaggerated our amusement. We then gave it some time and talked about other things while Paula seemed a little disappointed that nobody had laughed as hard and I tried to explain how good the punchline really was. Eventually I chimed in and told the second part of the joke in which the punchline related right back to Paula’s joke. It was always a hit and we laughed hard EVERY TIME like it was the first time.

Fast-forward to living slightly more grown-up lives with Paula moved far away from me and happily married to a great guy and me cuddled up to my then boyfriend. He tells me a joke with a not-so-funny punchline. A somewhat altered version of Paula’s joke, but I recognized it. I let out a not-so-amused laugh and we chatted about something else. Then, I chimed in with, “Wanna hear a joke?” And I told him the second part of the joke and related it right back to his part. He was amused and bewildered and wildly impressed. He really hadn’t seen it coming! This was one of the times I was sure the universe had conspired to bring us together.

There was another time when we were putting off….ummm….taking a break from our graduate school work by going to garage sales then decorating our humble abodes. Yes, as grad students we lived humbly and attended events for free food and shopped garage sales so we could have fancy stuff in our homes – mostly to distract us. As I was carefully rearranging his books and noticing each one because his books gave me some insight into him, I picked up The Prophet by Khalil Gibran and looked up at him. He said simply, “That’s my favorite.” And a little something in me was in awe of a realization about the universe because I had the same copy of that book and it was my absolute favorite, too. The universe had conspired to bring us together.

 And then there was the card-playing and the competitiveness it brought out in us. Rook was our game. We learned it together on a beach and played it over and over and over and over again. And the replays were only because neither of us could stand to lose and leave that way. So we asked for another game and kept going. The universe had conspired to bring us together. This time for a lesson we had to learn about life. A lesson we’re still trying to learn. After all, when you put stubborn (him) and prideful (yours truly) on display, they both look the same and they don’t get along easily. There are winners and losers in most games, but when love is the focus, we’re all winners. We’re still working on this one, but we’re not staying up nights trying to win anymore as our focus turns more towards love. We’ve also put away the cards for now. The universe has conspired to bring us together.

The universe has conspired to bring us together but our togetherness was not the end. No, we were brought together to continue on this journey of life in each others presence. Our union is designed so that other marvelous things can continue to happen. Our joys and struggles are equally important. We grow better as we become more our SELVES. We grow better as we become more our Divine Spirit selves. In the midst of the marvelous universe, there is some order to the entirely unknowable universe. There is a design in the way our lives came together in the same way there is a design in the way the galaxies exist and move and change.

The realization that the universe has conspired to bring my partner and I together continues to sink in.  The realization that the twinge of hope for a wish that I felt years before in my soul or that was felt in the soul of something much greater than me set the entire universe to conspire in my favor. The realization that many, many years ago, a man and a woman had their fourth child on the east coast of Africa and a man and woman had their first child on the east coast of the U.S. and that years down the road the two would meet in a hallway of a university and the boy would say to the girl, “So you must be Rhina,” and the girl’s soul would know before she ever did, that the universe was conspiring right in that moment and had been all along.

Brian and I at the edge of The Victoria Falls on the Zambia/Zimbabwe border moments after we got engaged.

Brian and I at the edge of The Victoria Falls on the Zambia/Zimbabwe border moments after we got engaged.

“When a person really desires something, all the universe conspires to help that person to realize his dream.”
-Paulo Coehlo

The moments of realization that the universe, the entire marvelous universe, has conspired to create my life into what it is continue to show up for me. And as I continue to be in wonder of how I fit into the entire marvelous universe I can’t help but feel more of a responsibility for my dot as well as a deep sense of comfort that the universe is conspiring in ways that do not always need my knowing. The twinges of hope for wishes are simply glimpses into the soul of my future.

How about you? What has this marvelous universe conspired to create in your life, in your dot that is highlighted for you on the Timeline? What twinges of hope for wishes showed up in your life many years ago that the entire universe conspired to create in your life? What twinges of hope for wishes are you feeling in your soul today that will nudge the universe to conspire in your favor?

Truthfully yours,

Rhina

11 responses to “The Universe is Conspiring in Your Favor

  1. Cheryl says:

    Awesome post! This being one of my favorite parts “…the universe is conspiring in ways that do not always need my knowing. The twinges of hope for wishes are simply glimpses into the soul of my future.”
    This post came across to enlighten me in a time of despair and importance. Thank you!

  2. […] “I felt good in his presence. I felt most like me in his presence. And the thought sat there in my mind for at least a day. And then the universe said to me, “Why not him?” And then began the butterflies and a slightly different kind of joy whenever I saw him.” https://justrhina.wordpress.com/2013/04/21/the-universe-is-conspiring-in-your-favor/ […]

  3. […] lesson and truth has been seeping into my being on a daily basis in my nine years of marriage. The universe really has conspired to bring us together and the Design has been in place from the beginning. I dreamed this life with Brian into being […]

  4. […] help but get the odd feeling that they are NOT often conspiring in my favor unlike the rest of the Universe. In fact, I sometimes think they plan their moves just to play mind tricks on me. All-in-all, I […]

  5. Now I need to know the joke…

    I love the way you position you and the Universe and the way the Universe conspires to connect us. I’m overwhelmed by this on a regular basis (and I love that). How we choose to embrace the Universe’s invitations to connect and empower and support one another is also fascinating to reflect upon.

    Um, ANNNNNNNNNNDDDDD that picture of you and Brian screams happiness. The Universe was certainly cheering on that day!

    • justrhina says:

      I love what you said about how we choose to respond matters. I believe it. We make those choices daily.
      I will tell you the joke when you are least expecting it. 😉

  6. A Spinning Wheel says:

    The part that I loved most was the mention of ” a deep sense of comfort that the universe is conspiring in ways that do not always need my knowing.” I belive the universe is so much more organized than we are aware of and lots of things are going on when we don’t realize, in our sleep and intertwined with the lives of others — then we wake up and realize that the conspiracy toward our good is happening A LOT! How much have we missed? Thank you Universe a.k.a. God!

    • justrhina says:

      Hi Chris!
      I have been trying to get to your blog since you posted this comment and am not able to do so. First – thanks for reading and taking the time to comment. And yes, AKA God is right on!

Tell Me Your Truth

